Westchester Fiction Award

The Westchester Fiction Award was founded in 2009 by Suzanne Osman, a teacher librarian for the Los Angeles Unified School District in Los Angeles, California. This award honors talented authors who contribute exemplary literature to the Young Adult literary canon & the visionary publishers who bring their texts to life. When evaluating literature, the committee considers the following questions:

  1.  Does the work have immediate and widespread appeal to adolescents?
  2.  Is the theme/topic meaningful and relevant today?
  3.  If the work is part of an established series, can it stand alone?
  4.  Is there a unique quality to the work (voice, message, language, format, etc.)?
  5.  Is the writing rich, compelling, detailed?
  6.  Are the main characters and content age appropriate for high school students?
  7.  Is the work a valuable addition to the Young Adult literary canon?


2015 Winners:

Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer

V is for Villain by Peter Moore

Schizo by Nic Sheff

Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Changers by T. Cooper & Allison Glock-Cooper

Trouble by Non Pratt

The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina

Devil’s Intern by Donna Hosie

Noggin by John Corey Whaley


2015 Honorable Mentions

Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

Dissonance by Erica O’Rourke

Expiration Day by William Campbell Powell

The One Safe Place by Tania Unsworth

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: