Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award: 2017 Master List

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades four through eight in participating Illinois schools. The award is named in honor of Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois, for nearly 50 years. The award is given in recognition for her literary talent and the universal appeal of her books which have touched the hearts of many children and young adults.

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Stella by Starlight by Sharon Draper

Nightbird by Alice Hoffman

The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holczer

The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm

Rhyme Schemer by K.A. Holt

The Great Trouble by Deborah Hopkinson

Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston

Masterminds by Gordon Korman

The Paper Cowboy by Kristin Levine

Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom: My Story of the 1965 Selma Voting Rights March by Lynda Blackmon Lowery

Rain Reign by Ann. M. Martin

Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan

The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin

The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud

How I Became a Ghost: A Choctaw Trail of Tears Story by Tim Tingle

A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: