Next Week

The Moline Public Library’s Summer Reading Program runs through July 29. Stop by the library to register and pick up your reading logs. Students in grades 6-12 will get prizes at three levels of 500 pages or minutes each, and can keep going for entries into the grand prize drawing.

Wednesday, July 5 @ 2:00-4:00
Students ages 11-18 are invited to Afternoon Gaming every Wednesday. Enjoy a variety of video games, board games, and other activities.

A Librarian Reads…

Bang by Barry Lyga

Ten years ago, Sebastian lost his sister. But he didn’t just lose her. She was shot and killed. By Sebastian. When he was just four years old. Everyone said it was an accident, that he wasn’t to blame. And yet, everyone blames him. People look at him oddly. Parents don’t want him to be friends with their children. No one trusts him. Sebastian is ready for it to end. He’s shot a gun once in his life, and he plans to do it one more time. Then Aneesa and her family move in down the block, and they know nothing of his past. For the first time in his life, Sebastian feels like he can do and be anything he wants. Can one friend be enough when the rest of the world is against you?

This book tackles some very serious issues, and is recommended for mature readers in grades 7 and up.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.

Featured Series

Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies

When Skye, who lives with her aunt in Boulder, Colorado, turns seventeen and is suddenly pursued by two boys who are polar opposites, secrets of her true identity–and destiny–begin to emerge.

1) A Beautiful Dark

2) A Fractured Light

3) A Radiant Sky

Around Town

Check out these events around town…

June 28 – Teen Gaming @ Davenport Public Library (Fairmount)

June 29 – Teen Iron Chef @ Rock Island Public Library (Main)

June 29 – DIY Lava Lamps @ East Moline Public Library

June 29 – Cooking Class @ Silvis Public Library

June 29 – Stop Motion Movie Maker @ River Valley District Library

June 29 – Tabletop RPG @ Bettendorf Public Library

June 29 – Teen Disney Movie Night @ Davenport Public Library (Fairmount)

June 30 – Rick Riordan Teen Book Club @ Davenport Public Library (Eastern)

June 30 – Showtime at Silvis: Finding Dory @ Silvis Public Library

July 1 – Build a Better 2-liter: Composting Worm Farm @ Bettendorf Public Library

 

Would you like your teen-friendly events listed here? Let me know in the comments.

What’s New?

Check out these new titles in the Teen Corner at the Moline Public Library. Click on the title to go to the catalog to find the book or place a hold.

Dreamfall by Amy Plum (Dreamfall, Book One)
Desperate to overcome her debilitating insomnia, Cata signs up for an experimental new procedure. A malfunction with the lab equipment leaves Cata and six other teen patients plunged into a shared dreamworld with no memory of how they got there. Hunted by creatures from their darkest imaginations and tormented by secrets they’d rather keep buried, Cata and the others will be forced to band together to face their biggest fears.

Blood Brothers by Colleen Nelson
Jakub is a good Catholic boy—and a graffiti artist. He and his best friend, Lincoln, sneak out with spray paint to make their mark as Morf and Skar. When Jakub gets a scholarship to an elite private school, he knows it’s his chance for a better life. But it means leaving Lincoln, who gets lured into his brother’s gang. When the Red Bloodz find out Jakub knows more than he should about a murder, Lincoln will have to decide where his loyalties lie.

Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean
Recently orphaned, Maren has just been sent to live with grandparents she’s never met in Scotland when she receives an encrypted journal from her dead mother. Her parents were employed by a secret, international organization that’s now intent on recruiting her. As she races to unlock her mother’s clues, she will also have to discover herself and who she is meant to be.

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate
Jordan’s low Alto 2 voice makes getting a role in the musical at her performing arts school impossible and leaves her college applications light. So she considers nontraditional performing options—like auditioning for the (all male) a cappella group the Sharpshooters. But pretending to be someone she’s not (a boy), turns out to be harder than Jordan could have imagined.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she loves her family, and she’s destined for something more in her life. When her childhood friend Freddie talks her into swimming laps, Ramona falls in love with swimming—and maybe with Freddie too. As she begins to question everything, Ramona discovers that life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Next Week

The Moline Public Library’s Summer Reading Program runs through July 29. Stop by the library to register and pick up your reading logs. Students in grades 6-12 will get prizes at three levels of 500 pages or minutes each, and can keep going for entries into the grand prize drawing.

Wednesday, June 28 @ 2:00-4:00
Students ages 11-18 are invited to Afternoon Gaming every Wednesday. Enjoy a variety of video games, board games, and other activities.

Friday, June 30 @ 5:00-10:00
Students ages 11-18 are invited to a Teen Lock-In. Join us for a variety of food, games, and activities in the library after hours. Registration is required and a permission form must be turned in prior to the event!

A Librarian Reads…

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (Strange the Dreamer, Book One)

Lazlo Strange has always been a dreamer. Since his earliest childhood he has been fascinated by tales of people, places, and magic. But nothing captured his imagination like the city of Weep. He spent hours at the orphanage imagining himself a warrior of that city, which had been lost to the world for two hundred years. Luck brought him to the great library, where he was able to further his studies of the city no one remembered or cared about. So when a delegation from Weep appears looking for great minds to help them solve their city’s problem, Lazlo should be at the front of the line. But as a junior librarian, what can he offer? Will his years of collected knowledge, the stories he’s read and re-read, his unwavering belief that his destiny is tied to Weep, be enough?

Fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy will not be disappointed with her latest offering. Beautiful descriptions, engaging characters, and a mystery that keeps you guessing until the end will have you waiting eagerly for the next in this new series. Recommended for high school and up.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.