Next Week

Wednesday, April 4 @ 2:30 to 4:00 p.m.
Students in grades 6 through 12 can enjoy a variety of video games, board games, computer games, crafts, and other activities at the Moline Public Library during After School Fun. Make friendship bracelets. Drop in any time. No registration required.

Thursday, April 5 @ 3:30 p.m.
The Teen Advisory Group is your chance to help plan programs and events for teens, recommend new books and materials for the library, earn service credits, make friends, and have fun. Grades 6-12.

Students in grades 6-12 can submit a poem in the Teen Poetry Contest for a chance to win up to $25. Information and entry form are available HERE. Entries are due April 20.

Want to get reminders about upcoming teen programs at the Moline Public Library? Sign up for Remind at https://www.remind.com/join/mpl-teens.

Advertisements

A Librarian Reads…

Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet by Ta-Nehisi Coates (Graphic Novel)

T’Challa never wanted to be king. But he is. And though he wants nothing more than to rescue his sister, Shuri, from living death, he must deal with the consequences of a rebellion in which he was forced to kill his fellow Wakandans. Now civil unrest rules throughout his country. He must deal with Tetu, who seeks a civil war with the aid of Zenzi, the deceiver. And Ayo and Aneka of the Dora Milaje who are meting out their own justice against wrongdoers. But more than anything, T’Challa needs to figure out what kind of king he is, what kind of hero he is, and what kind of man he is. And he must do it before Wakanda falls.

Readers not familiar with the Marvel Universe may find themselves a bit lost at first, but the story is worth sticking with. Coates elevates this above the typical superhero story and looks at complex and important matters. Recommended for fans of Black Panther, Marvel comics, and stories about social issues.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.

Featured Series

The Program by Suzanne Young

When suicide becomes a worldwide epidemic, the only known cure is The Program, a treatment in which painful memories are erased, a fate worse than death to seventeen-year-old Sloane who knows that The Program will steal memories of her dead brother and boyfriend.

1) The Program

2) The Treatment

3) The Remedy

4) The Epidemic

5) The Adjustment

Around Town

Check out these events around town…

March 28 – Magic: The Gathering Club @ Bettendorf Public Library

March 28 – Teen GamingDavenport Public Library (Fairmount)

March 29 – Tween/Teen Gaming Night @ Rock Island Public Library (Downtown)

March 29 – Fantastic Fabulous Felties @ Davenport Public Library (Eastern)

March 29 – Young Adult Tabletop Roleplaying @ Bettendorf Public Library

March 29 – Teen Chef @ East Moline Public Library

April 3 – Young Adult Tabletop Roleplaying @ Bettendorf Public Library

 

Would you like your teen-friendly events listed here? Let me know in the comments.

What’s New?

Check out these new titles in the Teen Corner at the Moline Public Library. Click on the title to go to the catalog to find the book or place a hold.

I Stop Somewhere by T.E. Carter
When Ellie starts freshman year she just wants to blend in with the wallpaper. Then Ellie finds herself trapped after a brutal assault. She wasn’t the first victim, and now she watches it happen again and again. She tries to hold on to her happier memories, waiting for someone to find her. But will anyone search for a girl they never noticed in the first place?

The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton (The Belles, Book One)
Camellia is one of the Belles, revered for their control of Beauty. In Orléans, the people are born gray, and only with the help of a Belle and her talents can they be made beautiful. Camellia wants to be the favorite—the Belle chosen by the Queen of Orléans to live in the royal palace. But the palace is full of dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that her powers are far greater, and could be more dangerous, than she ever imagined.

The Book of Pearl by Timothée de Fombelle
Joshua Pearl is from a world that our own no longer believes in. He knows that his great love is waiting for him in that distant place, but he is trapped in our time. As his memories begin to fade, he discovers strange objects, tiny fragments of a story from a long time ago. Can Joshua remember the past and believe in his own story before his love is lost forever?

Winterfolk by Janel Kolby
Rain is a homeless teen living with her father in the woods outside Seattle, near a community of other homeless people called the Winterfolk. She finds safety and sanctuary in this hidden world—until the day that safety is shattered when she learns the city plans to clear the woods of everyone who lives there. Now she’s forced to confront Seattle, which is full of strange sights, sounds, people—and memories…

The Tombs by Deborah Schaumberg
Avery pines for the life she had before her mother was taken. She fears the mysterious men in crow masks who locked her mother in the Tombs asylum for being able to see what others couldn’t. Like her mother’s, Avery’s powers refuse to be contained. When she causes a bizarre explosion at the factory, she has no choice but to run from her lies, straight into the darkest corners of the city.

Next Week

Students in grades 6-12 can submit a poem in the Teen Poetry Contest for a chance to win up to $25. Information and entry form are available HERE. Entries are due April 20.

The Library will be CLOSED on Friday, March 30 in observance of the Spring Holiday.

A Librarian Reads…

Paper Things by Jennifer Richard Jacobson

When Ari’s mother died four years ago she had two dying wishes. One was for Ari and her older brother, Gage, to stay together. The other was for Ari to attend Carter Middle School. So when Gage announced he’d gotten an apartment and was moving out of the house with their guardian, Janna, of course Ari went with him. Only, he wasn’t telling the whole truth, and for the last several weeks Ari and Gage have been bouncing between friends and shelters. Ari’s grades have slipped, making it less and less likely she’ll be able to attend Carter next year. And even worse, staying with Gage is getting harder and harder too.

This novel looks at temporary homelessness with unflinching reality, but also with hope and compassion. Recommended for readers in middle school and up who enjoy stories of families, friendships, and people overcoming adversity.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.