A Librarian Reads…

Black Panther: A Nation Under Our Feet by Ta-Nehisi Coates (Graphic Novel)

T’Challa never wanted to be king. But he is. And though he wants nothing more than to rescue his sister, Shuri, from living death, he must deal with the consequences of a rebellion in which he was forced to kill his fellow Wakandans. Now civil unrest rules throughout his country. He must deal with Tetu, who seeks a civil war with the aid of Zenzi, the deceiver. And Ayo and Aneka of the Dora Milaje who are meting out their own justice against wrongdoers. But more than anything, T’Challa needs to figure out what kind of king he is, what kind of hero he is, and what kind of man he is. And he must do it before Wakanda falls.

Readers not familiar with the Marvel Universe may find themselves a bit lost at first, but the story is worth sticking with. Coates elevates this above the typical superhero story and looks at complex and important matters. Recommended for fans of Black Panther, Marvel comics, and stories about social issues.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: