Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award: 2020 Master List

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades four through eight in participating Illinois schools. The award is named in honor of Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois, for nearly 50 years. The award is given in recognition for her literary talent and the universal appeal of her books which have touched the hearts of many children and young adults.


Fred Korematsu Speaks Up by Laura Atkins & Stan Yogi

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora by Pablo Cartaya

The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor

Space Case by Stuart Gibbs

Refugee by Alan Gratz

Slider by Pete Hautman

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani

All’s Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson

Restart by Gordon Korman

The Stars Beneath Our Feet by David Barclay Moore

The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Pérez

42 is Not Just a Number: The Odyssey of Jackie Robinson, American Hero by Doreen Rappaport

As Brave As You by Jason Reynolds

The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Wild Bird by Wendelin Van Draanen

The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: