2019 Westchester Fiction Award

The Westchester Fiction Award was founded in 2009 by Suzanne Osman, a teacher librarian for the Los Angeles Unified School District in Los Angeles, California. This award honors talented authors who contribute exemplary literature to the Young Adult literary canon & the visionary publishers who bring their texts to life. When evaluating literature, the committee considers the following questions:

  1.  Does the work have immediate and widespread appeal to adolescents?
  2.  Is the theme/topic meaningful and relevant today?
  3.  If the work is part of an established series, can it stand alone?
  4.  Is there a unique quality to the work (voice, message, language, format, etc.)?
  5.  Is the writing rich, compelling, detailed?
  6.  Are the main characters and content age appropriate for high school students?
  7.  Is the work a valuable addition to the Young Adult literary canon?


2019 Winners:

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Dry by Neal and Jarrod Shusterman

Empress of all Seasons by Emiko Jean

Juan Pablo and the Butterflies by J. J. Flowers

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao

A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia Abawi

The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

We Are All That’s Left by Carrie Arcos


2019 Honorable Mentions:

After the Shot Drops by Randy Ribay

At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson

I, Claudia by Mary McCoy

More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer

Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen


2019 Margaret A. Edwards Award


The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. It recognizes an author’s work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.

M.T. Anderson wins 2019 Edwards Award for FeedThe Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume I: The Pox Party, and The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves

M.T. Anderson is a powerful force in the field of literature for teens. His creativity, wit and intelligence distinguish him and inform the body of his work, which is further notable for its artful variety, whether it be his fiercely satirical “Feed” or his monumental two-volume “The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation.”

“M.T. Anderson is a true nonpareil, demonstrating an extraordinary facility for writing in a variety of forms and genres, standing virtually alone in his creative venturesomeness and bold innovation,” said Edwards Committee Member Michael Cart.

2019 Alex Award Winners


The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year’s publishing. The Alex Awards were first given annually beginning in 1998 and became an official ALA award in 2002.

The award is sponsored by the Margaret A. Edwards Trust. Edwards pioneered young adult library services and worked for many years at the Enoch Pratt Library in Baltimore. Her work is described in her book Fair Garden and the Swarm of Beasts, and over the years she has served as an inspiration to many librarians who serve young adults. The Alex Awards are named after Edwards, who was called “Alex” by her friends.


The Black God’s Drums by P. Djèlí Clark

The Book of Essie by Meghan MacLean Weir

Circe by Madeline Miller

Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover

The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After by Clemantine Wamariya and Elizabeth Weil

Green by Sam Graham-Felsen

Home After Dark by David Small

How Long ’Til Black Future Month? by N. K. Jemisin

Lawn Boy by Jonathan Evison

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

2018 Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.  The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

2019 Winner
The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Acevedo transforms everyday language into transcendent imagery in this novel-in-verse about Xiomara, who struggles to come into her own power amid her restrictive upbringing. Over the course of these lyrical, expressive, and honest poems, she grows from speaking with her fists to embracing her identity as the Poet X.

2019 Honor Books

Damsel by Elana K. Arnold

A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti

I, Claudia by Mary McCoy

The 2018 National Book Award: Young People’s Literature

2010_nba_winnerEstablished in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization. A pantheon of such writers as William Faulkner, Marianne Moore, Ralph Ellison, John Cheever, Bernard Malamud, Philip Roth, Robert Lowell, Walker Percy, John Updike, Katherine Anne Porter, Norman Mailer, Lillian Hellman, Elizabeth Bishop, Saul Bellow, Donald Barthelme, Flannery O’Connor, Adrienne Rich, Thomas Pynchon, Isaac Bashevis Singer, Alice Walker, Charles Johnson, E. Annie Proulx, and Colum McCann have all won the Award.


2018 Winner:
The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

2018 Finalists:
The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge by M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor
The Journey of Little Charlie by Christopher Paul Curtis
Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

2018 Long List:
We’ll Fly Away by Bryan Bliss
A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi
Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough
Boots on the Ground: America’s War in Vietnam by Elizabeth Partridge


2018 YALSA’s Teens’ Top Ten


The Teens’ Top Ten is a “teen choice” list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year! Nominators are members of teen book groups in fifteen school and public libraries around the country. Nominations are posted on the Thursday of National Library Week, and teens across the country vote on their favorite titles each year.


2018 Teens’ Top Ten :


Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

Warcross by Marie Lu. G. P.

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo ​​​​

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez

Paper Hearts by Ali Novak

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen


See all the 2018 Nominees here.

The YA Book Prize

The YA Book Prize, presented by The Bookseller magazine in the United Kingdom, is a new award for UK and Irish YA books.

The winner of the 2018 YA Book Prize is After the Fire by Will Hill

Other titles on the 2017 short list were:

  • The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr
  • S.T.A.G.S by M.A. Bennett
  • It Only Happens in the Movies by Holly Bourne
  • Moonrise by Sarah Crossan
  • Indigo Donut by Patrice Lawrence
  • Release by Patrick Ness
  • Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls
  • La Belle Sauvage by Phillip Pullman
  • Straight Outta Crongton by Alex Wheatle