What’s New?

Check out these new titles in the Teen Corner at the Moline Public Library. Click on the title to go to the catalog to find the book or place a hold.

Dreamfall by Amy Plum (Dreamfall, Book One)
Desperate to overcome her debilitating insomnia, Cata signs up for an experimental new procedure. A malfunction with the lab equipment leaves Cata and six other teen patients plunged into a shared dreamworld with no memory of how they got there. Hunted by creatures from their darkest imaginations and tormented by secrets they’d rather keep buried, Cata and the others will be forced to band together to face their biggest fears.

Blood Brothers by Colleen Nelson
Jakub is a good Catholic boy—and a graffiti artist. He and his best friend, Lincoln, sneak out with spray paint to make their mark as Morf and Skar. When Jakub gets a scholarship to an elite private school, he knows it’s his chance for a better life. But it means leaving Lincoln, who gets lured into his brother’s gang. When the Red Bloodz find out Jakub knows more than he should about a murder, Lincoln will have to decide where his loyalties lie.

Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean
Recently orphaned, Maren has just been sent to live with grandparents she’s never met in Scotland when she receives an encrypted journal from her dead mother. Her parents were employed by a secret, international organization that’s now intent on recruiting her. As she races to unlock her mother’s clues, she will also have to discover herself and who she is meant to be.

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate
Jordan’s low Alto 2 voice makes getting a role in the musical at her performing arts school impossible and leaves her college applications light. So she considers nontraditional performing options—like auditioning for the (all male) a cappella group the Sharpshooters. But pretending to be someone she’s not (a boy), turns out to be harder than Jordan could have imagined.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she loves her family, and she’s destined for something more in her life. When her childhood friend Freddie talks her into swimming laps, Ramona falls in love with swimming—and maybe with Freddie too. As she begins to question everything, Ramona discovers that life and love are more fluid than they seem.

A Librarian Reads…

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (Strange the Dreamer, Book One)

Lazlo Strange has always been a dreamer. Since his earliest childhood he has been fascinated by tales of people, places, and magic. But nothing captured his imagination like the city of Weep. He spent hours at the orphanage imagining himself a warrior of that city, which had been lost to the world for two hundred years. Luck brought him to the great library, where he was able to further his studies of the city no one remembered or cared about. So when a delegation from Weep appears looking for great minds to help them solve their city’s problem, Lazlo should be at the front of the line. But as a junior librarian, what can he offer? Will his years of collected knowledge, the stories he’s read and re-read, his unwavering belief that his destiny is tied to Weep, be enough?

Fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy will not be disappointed with her latest offering. Beautiful descriptions, engaging characters, and a mystery that keeps you guessing until the end will have you waiting eagerly for the next in this new series. Recommended for high school and up.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.

What’s New?

Check out these new titles in the Teen Corner at the Moline Public Library. Click on the title to go to the catalog to find the book or place a hold.

The Beast Is an Animal by Peternelle van Arsdale
Alys was seven when the soul eaters came to her village. The children were spared and sent to a neighboring village where they were raised in fear—of the soul eaters and the Beast they believe guides them. But the Beast is not what they think it is. And neither is Alys. She has a gift she hides from everyone. When disaster strikes, Alys finds herself on a journey to heal herself and her world.

Grendel’s Guide to Love and War by A.E. Kaplan
Tom Grendel prefers a quiet life. He spends his time mowing lawns for his elderly neighbors and pining for Willow, the girl next door. When Willow’s brother Rex starts throwing wild parties, Tom is determined to restore order. He comes up with a plan to end the parties for good. One retaliation leads to another, and things quickly escalate out of control.

Maid of the King’s Court by Lucy Worsley
As the sole heiress to an old but impoverished noble family, Eliza knows she must marry a man of wealth and title. But when she lands in the royal court as a maid of honor to Anne of Cleves, a new world of possibilities is opened. If she can survive the attentions of Henry VII, the intrigues of the court, and the king’s handsome page, Ned Barsby.

It Started With Goodbye by Christina June
Tatum is under stepmother-imposed house arrest for the summer after being falsely accused of a crime. With her BFF ignoring her, all she has is community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night. When Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends.

Soupy Leaves Home by Cecil Castellucci (Graphic Novel)
Pearl ran away from her abusive father, but has nowhere to go until she stumbles into a new identity. Reborn as a boy named Soupy, she hitches her star to Remy, a hobo who takes her under his wing. But Ramshackle has his own demons to wrestle with, and he’ll need Soupy just as much as she needs him.

A Librarian Reads…

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

When Conor wakes up at 12:07, he’s glad to be out of the nightmare. Then the monster comes. The yew tree behind his house has pulled itself up and come to pay a visit. At first, Conor assumes this is just a new, different kind of nightmare. But that doesn’t explain the yew leaves and berries he finds in his bedroom night after night. When he finally confronts the monster, who isn’t that scary compared to his real nightmare, Conor is surprised to find it wants to tell him three stories. So he listens to what the monster has to say—and his life will never be the same again.

This tale of loss, truths, and healing will appeal to readers in middle school and up who enjoy stories that really make you think.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.

Featured Series

Chronicles of Vladimir Tod by Heather Brewer

He looks like a regular guy, but Vladimir is a teenage vampire. Someone or something is always after him! Action-packed, fast-paced, and funny, the series takes the teen from eighth grade through high school. Each of the five books covers one school year.

1) Eighth Grade Bites

2) Ninth Grade Slays

3) Tenth Grade Bleeds

4) Eleventh Grade Burns

5) Twelfth Grade Kills

What’s New?

Check out these new titles in the Teen Corner at the Moline Public Library. Click on the title to go to the catalog to find the book or place a hold.

Miss E. by Brian Herberger
Bets is used to being the new kid. But moving to California in 1967 when her father leaves for the war in Vietnam is different. During a history assignment, the town’s most mysterious resident shares a secret with Bets that has been hidden away for decades. When a peaceful protest spins out of control, Bets is forced to reconsider how she feels about the war her father is fighting and her own role in events taking place much closer to home.

Bang by Barry Lyga
When Sebastian was four years old he accidentally shot and killed his infant sister with his father’s gun. That has been his only story for the last ten years, and he’s ready for it to end—the same way it started. Then Aneesa moves in down the block, and Sebastian can pretend to be normal. Will it be enough?

Missing by Kelley Armstrong
Winter wants nothing more than to leave Reeve’s End. Everyone does eventually. There’s nothing for them there but abandoned mines and empty futures. But when Winter finds Lennon left for dead in the woods, only to have him disappear again, she begins to question what she once thought was true. What if nobody left at all? What if they’re all missing?

The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares
Sasha and Ray have grown up sharing everything, including three half-sisters from their parents’ previous marriages. But they’ve never met. When their older sisters decide it’s time for the whole family to get together, everyone’s lives will intersect in ways none of them ever dreamed.

Textrovert by Lindsey Summers
Summer is nearly over when Keeley discovers she and Talon have accidentally switched phones. Worse, he’s just left for football camp. Keeley doesn’t know him, but they’ll need to rely on each other to forward their messages for an entire week. Soon the two are falling for each other, hard. But when true identities are revealed and secrets are exposed, will Keeley’s feelings stay the same?

A Librarian Reads…

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

When Starr Carter was 12 years old, her parents gave her two talks. From her mom, she learned about the birds and the bees. From her dad, she learned what to do if a cop stopped her. Khalil must have gotten that talk too. But for some reason, when he and Starr are pulled over and he’s pulled out and patted down, he breaks one of the rules. It’s not smart to move while a cop has his back to you. Khalil opens the door to ask Starr if she’s okay, and takes three bullets in his back. Suddenly, Starr finds herself in the center of a controversy that threatens to rip her community apart. All she wants is to be left alone to grieve. Already walking the line between two worlds—her poor, black neighborhood and the mostly-white, privileged private school she attends—Starr finds balancing her two selves to be an even harder challenge. How can she stay quiet when her white friends call Khalil a gangbanger and say he got what he deserved? How can she speak out and put herself and her family at even greater risk?

This book takes a hard look at the harsh realities of racial inequity, intolerance, and police brutality, and pulls no punches. There is hatred, but there is also hope. There is prejudice, but there is also pride. Highly recommended for readers in high school and up.

 

Would you like to see your book review featured here? Fill out the Review Form for your chance to have your review published and to win a prize.